Publications Editing

Just another WordPress.com site

Ask an editor: Mike Rand of the Star Tribune

leave a comment »

My name is Andrew Krammer, junior at the University of Minnesota and currently covering athletic administration for the Minnesota Daily.

For a course I’m taking, I have to email an editor/assistant editor and ask them a few basic questions. If you have the time, I’d like to ask you a few.

1) What is the most challenging part of your job (as an editor)? I think the toughest parts of the job are learning how the different writers I manage have different styles — not just when it comes to what they write and how they report, but in terms of how they take feedback, etc. Editing is definitely not a one-size-fits-all job. You have to be willing to adapt to different styles and needs.

2) What is the most satisfying part of your job? The best part is seeing a story that you worked on get published and to know A) How much work went into it, B) That it is the best story that could have been written and C) That it will enrich the reading experience for our subscribers.

3) What new opportunities do you see in your work as the digital age moves forward? Well, I’ve already been doing quite a few different things over the years. I do a daily sports blog (RandBall), a series of videos with my reporters on various college sports topics, I shoot videos sometimes out in the field, I’m active on Twitter … the list goes on and on. I’m not exactly sure what the future will hold in terms of digital, but I know there will be more of it.

Written by jour3155fall2012

February 8, 2012 at 5:50 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

